CHSS Connection: Honors & Awards

Friday, July 10, 2020

July/August 2020 issue

Roberts joins Parks California advisory council

Nina Roberts and Parks CA logoProfessor of Recreation, Parks & Tourism Nina S. Roberts has joined the advisory council of Parks California, a statewide nonprofit working to ensure that state, regional and local parks thrive. Parks California expands the resources available for parks to implement projects that improve visitors’ experiences. Parks California welcomed Roberts on Twitter, noting her qualifications as a Fulbright scholar whose expertise includes park access, outdoor recreation across cultures, women/girls outdoors and youth development.

Yee-Melichar elected vice chair of Academic Senate of CSU

The Academic Senate of the California State University (ASCSU) has elected Darlene Yee-Melichar, professor and coordinator of the Gerontology Program in the School of Public Affairs and Community Engagement, as its vice chair for the 2020-2021 academic year. As the official voice of the faculty in matters of systemwide concern, ASCSU provides the means for faculty to participate in the collegial form of governance based on historic academic traditions as recognized by California law. In her role as vice chair, Yee-Melichar will serve as a liaison to the CSU Alumni Council, California Faculty Association, California State Student Association, Intersegmental Committee of Academic Senates  (which includes the California Community Colleges, California State University and the University of California), Systemwide Budget Advisory Committee and Systemwide Honorary Degrees Committee.

SF State wins best practice award in waste reduction

repurposed bannersSF State won a 2020 Best Practice Award for Waste Reduction at the California Higher Education Sustainability Conference for a project titled “Circular Usage of Marketing Materials.” Connie Ulasewicz, emerita faculty of the Family, Interiors, Nutrition & Apparel Department, presented her project findings at the virtual conference held July 6-10. The purpose of this project was to investigate, develop implement and video a model of circularity, redirecting used SF State banners from landfill to new markets. It was funded by a grant from the San Francisco Department of the Environment.




CHSS students receive 2020 Graduate Award for Distinguished Achievement

Each year the University’s colleges select graduate students to receive the Graduate Award for Distinguished Achievement. The recipients are honored for their outstanding academic performance and service to the profession, department and community. This year’s CHSS recipients are Susan Cuong (M.S., Counseling), Vannisha D. Curd (MSW), Chloe Danielle Gordon-Murer (M.S., Kinesiology), Gabrielle Igarta (M.A., Human Sexuality Studies), Emily Katherine Jackson (M.S., Counseling) Carmen C. Lee (MSW), Phung Ngoc Nguyen (MPA), Ashlen Taylor Paustenbach (DPT), Christopher William Thomas Pflaumer (MPA), Melissa Marie Plageman (MPA), Adriana Alyssa Regalado (M.S. Counseling), Samanta Sass (M.S., Nursing), Lynn Shargel (M.S., Nursing), Nicole Kelly Van Wagner (M.A., Human Sexuality Studies) and Connie Yuen (M.A. Gerontology).

Personal experiences motivate Lewenstein scholars to help others

Allison Phuong and Michael BrodheimThe two 2020 recipients of the Dr. Morris R. Lewenstein Scholarship, Allison Phuong and Michael Brodheim, are at different stages of their lives and careers. But like the scholarship’s namesake, they are both lifelong learners, constantly striving to improve themselves despite challenging lives. Phuong is a junior majoring in Sociology, and Brodheim is a Master of Public Administration student.

Read story

Clark, Nursing student, wins Derf Service Award

Jaclyn Clark headshotJaclyn Anne Clark (BSN, ’20) received the School of Nursing’s Spring 2020 Philip Derf Service Award at the school’s Virtual Pinning Ceremony on May 29. Nursing Lecturer Daphne Stannard, who presented the award, said, “It gives me great joy and honor to present the Spring 2020 Philip Derf award to Jaclyn Clark. Most know her as Jackie and she served as the NSA president this past year. Serving as the NSA president during a pandemic is no easy feat, but Jackie organized, surveyed, listened and gave voice to the different cohorts and classes with grace and ease. Ever diplomatic, Jackie made you, the students’ issues her issues, which is one of the reasons that it is so apt for her to receive this award!”

The award is named for Philip Derf, a student in SF State’s Nursing program from 1990 to 1994 whose commitment to public service touched many of the faculty and students. Sadly, he passed away before completing the program. In his memory, each graduating class of the School of Nursing chooses one classmate to receive the award.

MPH student Nguyen named Active Minds Emerging Scholar

Brittany Nguyen headshotMaster of Public Health student Brittany Nguyen was selected as a 2020 scholar for the Active Minds’ Emerging Scholars Fellowship, supported by the Scattergood Foundation. Nguyen describes herself as a first-generation college student, Vietnamese American, a daughter of refugees, an aspiring public health practitioner and a mental health advocate. She is very passionate about advancing health equity and hopes to empower and elevate her community to take action on their own health and well being. During the six-month fellowship this past spring, the Active Minds Scholars conducted research on the topic of mental health programming/resources in high schools through a literature review, key informant interviews and surveys/focus groups. 

Nursing student Speaks selected for presigious Tillman Scholar program

James Alex Speaks headshotJames Alexander Speaks, an undergraduate Nursing student, was chosen as a 2020 Tillman Scholar by the Pat Tillman Foundation. The scholar program supports our nation’s active duty service members, veterans and military spouses by investing in education and professional development. As a 2020 Tillman Scholar, Speaks is one of 60 leaders united by their military service, academic passions, and desire to make an impact. In recognition of their service and leadership potential, the scholars receive scholarship funding to pursue higher education and continue their service in the fields of health care, business, law, public service, STEM, education and the humanities.

Read story