CHSS Excellence in Teaching Awards

The College of Health & Social Science is deeply committed to excellence in teaching and will offer two Excellence in Teaching Awards each academic year. One award will be given to a tenured or tenure-track faculty member, and the other award will be given to a lecturer who has demonstrated excellence in teaching. Candidates for this award must have maintained an average of at least a .40 teaching load over a period of five years or more.

Criteria for Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Designs courses to maximize learning and address a variety of different learning styles
  • Stimulates interest of students and encourages them to think imaginatively, critically and independently
  • A pedagogical approach that is innovative (new approaches using current or new models of teaching), intellectually rigorous, creative and engaging
  • A record of outstanding teaching effectiveness both within and outside the classroom
  • Experience advising/mentoring undergraduate and/or graduate students — interactions outside of the classroom and the quality of such interactions
  • Contribution to developing or enhancing curricula in the field
  • Embodies values in teaching vision statement of CHSS (e.g., social justice)
  • Engages in professional development activities to enhance and expand teaching skills
  • Quantitative SETE scores are important to consider, in addition to qualitative student comments
  • Other forms of excellence in teaching

Nomination Process

Students, faculty and department chairs are able to nominate an individual for this award. An online form will be completed along with a narrative that addresses the qualifications of the nominee based on the criteria. The nominations are due by April 26, 2019.

Awarding of the Excellence in Teaching Award

Each award will include $750 and a certificate signed by the chair of the Task Force on Teaching and the dean of the College of Health & Social Sciences. Recipient's name and year of award will appear on a plaque that will be placed prominently on a wall inside of the College Office. The award will be given at the opening collegewide meeting at the beginning of each academic year.